Daily Dose: ‘Spirit’ by Future Islands

I cannot stop listening to this. Sure, it’s kinda cheesy, but everything about it is a cinematic, euphoric delight, at least as far as I’m concerned, and has thoroughly flipped the switch on Future Islands for me. Before, I’d taken note of the phenomenon, but not really bought in, whereas now I’m much more invested on the basis of this absolute cracker of a track alone. They’ve clearly had a lot of time for Sparks in their life, but that doesn’t make it any less likely that you’re going to want to crank the volume and look intense. Like seriously, I’ve been listening to it all week since it came up on my list; It’s fantastic if you’re walking anywhere and want to get a bit pumped and dramatic in your stride. TO provide context, I have actually listened through to Singles (24th March, 2017), the album this was from, at least once, but the song hadn’t got stuck on me at all until a recent play on the radio. You’ll possible know the album mostly from it having had ‘Seasons (Waiting on you)’ on it, which a bunch of outlets declared as the best song of 2014, so it’s not like it was hurting for backers, but I didn’t go mad for the LP as a whole. There was a lot of justified attention paid to that one track, the live shows, and also Simon T. Herrings kooky antics, and I’m on the whole glad that the Baltimore band finally busted out, I just missed the hype train. As it happens, they’ve released their fifth album earlier on this year, The Far Field (7th April, 2017) and I’m going to give it a listen as soon as I can! Hopefully it will be more like this stormer. Synthpop, it turns out, is still fun.

Leave a Reply

