Daily Dose: ‘Silicon Chip’ by Basil Kirchin

I spoke about attending the Basil Kirchin festival whilst it was on in Hull earlier on this year, and I’m very glad I did, because he was a fascinating chap who did got get the recognition or attention he deserved during his life for the varied, innovative, interesting and occasionally un-listenable music that he made (sometimes all at the same time). I could do a whole separate article about his life, (it was filled with intrigue and not without controversy) and I would were I not so hilariously behind (I aim to do a Sunday Special on him one day), but know that he was roughly a million years ahead of established musical trends, he’s undergoing a something of a mini-resurgence due to Hull’s newfound prominence and the efforts of Jonny Trunk, and he made absolute bangers like this one, which I would suggest absolutely everyone in the entire world hear at least once. The most important thing about this, apart from it’s ridiculously advanced instrumentation and preposterously funky bass is it’s immediately hopeful, positive, outrageously futuristic vibe it provides, with just a delightful hint of nihilistic dread. If I was to distil this song into one message, it would be this: Sand is now computers and you need to get as hype as possible about it! Allow me to blow your mind for a moment: this song was made in 1979. That’s the same year that YMO made Rydeen, and it turned out that poor old Basil was pretty much as far into the advanced science of solving music as they were, just with far less fanfare and attention. This song is over forty freaking years old, and that bass is still something else, because it turns out that modern music hasn’t really advanced all that much since the great leaps taken then. Absolutely incredible. It was recently released as a single on Trunk records, and I would urge you, from the bottom of my heart, to support it as much as possible, because this stuff deserves to get as much support as it can. I feel like the least we can do is start to recognise Kirchin’s bizarre and unconventional magic in this most maddening of times.

Leave a Reply

