Daily Dose: ‘4monica’ by Gurgles

I don’t know what’s going on here. It’s some sort of progressive love song to Sonic the Hedgehog, that I can understand, as I think we all can, but there’s really too much for me to unpick here, so I’ll just do what I can with the time I have. On the surface, what is a quirky yet upbeat synth/keys with bass and drums progressive jazzy rock arrangement is pretty fun to listen to if a bit offbeat for some, perhaps. It’s when I start looking at the lyrics that my questioning is really provoked. Is this a metaphor for being trapped inside a video game? Is it a discussion of Sonic’s journey from lovable hero to absolute villain? Where do nineties American politicians and their extra-marital activities figure into this? Is our pursuit for coinage slowly destroying us, turned us to a broken husk of what we once were? Are we ever really going fast enough? This is just a small sample of questions that I had while listening to this song and the slight reading around I was able to do on it, and as you can see, they are clearly mostly of the mind-boggling variety. Anyway, such jolly musical arrangements and world rending intellectual themes might not be for everyone, but if you like your weirdness explicit, then this single and band (this track was released on 20th February, 2017) may well be worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

