Daily Dose: ‘Redbone’ by Childish Gambino

Childish Gambino, aka outrageously talented polymath Donald Glover, is part of the wave of psychedelic soul/R&B acts that seem to be becoming more and more common these days, a trend that I cannot encourage enough, as it combines two of my favourite things: mild absurdity and chilled relaxation. This is from an album that came out at the end of last year called “Awaken, My Love!” (2nd December, 2016), and is a departure from his usual hip hop stylings. It’s also brilliant. I’d heard a few times on the radio and gone “yeah that’s fine” but when I went and sought it out I was like “no this is the absolute business”, which may be a case of the full cut being a damn sight superior to the edit, so bear that in mind if you go looking for it. The chorus is among the most delightful things I’ve heard this year, and the relaxed lilting drift of music contrasts well with the actually quite intense high pitched soul vocals (they sound ace though). I get kind of a Bee Gees vibe from nowhere about this, and I’m completely okay with that (here’s hoping I haven’t just ruined this track for somebody). Honestly, I could listen to this all day, and the album is going straight to the top of my go through list; I love me some modern R and also the B, I think it’s sorely undervalued by people as a whole. Have a try of this and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

