Daily Dose: ‘Nautilus’ by Anna Meredith

Anna Meredith’s music is just so freaking…cool. I remember the thought going through my head as I heard this track again the other day that I wished that there was a movie that used this as part of the soundtrack, because that would be seriously awesome. Or in a trailer, that would be equally intense, I can sort of picture the gritty black comedy 10 minutes into the future thriller vibe now. In fact, if I saw that Meredith was soundtracking a movie, I would be equal parts unsurprised and almost child-like in my joyous enthusiasm. This is the opener from her album Varmints (4th March, 2016), a collection of songs which as I’ve gone back and listened to a few more times. I’m entering the process of talking myself into saying I made a mistake leaving it off my fave ten albums of 2016 list (I always do this though). I enjoyed it at the time, for sure, but I think a lot of that was borne of appreciation than pure enthrallment at the stimulation on offer. Make no bones about it, this will absolutely not be for everyone: it is unhinged sounding, Meredith wears her big heavy composer chops proudly, there is a heck of a lot of brass, and it’s experimental like taking psychedelic drugs inside a laundromat. All of these things are not a problem for me, and I don’t think they’ll get in the way for a lot of people, even if some folk don’t like that much honking. Do more crazy sounding things like this with your absurd talent Anna, I implore you.

Leave a Reply

