Daily Dose: ‘Comme J’ai Mal’ by Mylene Farmer

Following on from cool guy Baloji the other day, a couple more French language songs for your perusal. The first is one I heard in a toilet at a French service station while taking a break from a bus, I can’t remember exactly where or when because these things all blur into one. I recognised the voice, so I did the sensible thing and shazamed it surreptitiously, and what do you know, it’s a French icon. Mylene Farmer was born in Quebec, to French parents (birth name Mylène Jeanne Gautier, which makes more sense) and is one of the most successful recording artists in France ever, with more than 30 million records sold. She holds the record for the most number one hits in the French charts, (fifteen, with eight in a row) as well as twelve number one albums, which is frankly ridiculous. She’s also one of the more stunningly beautiful fifty-five year olds I’ve ever seen, frankly proving that age really is just a number after all. Despite all this, I’m prepared to bet that anyone outside of France my age or younger has probably barely heard of her, because I hadn’t until I started spending a lot of time there, which just goes to show how little exposure the UK gets to music from around the world. It’s the fourth single from her fourth album, Anamorphosée (17th October, 1995) which has a nice ring to it, and is what you’d expect from nineties baroque pop. To be honest, I’d say it could have been brought out anytime in the last couple of years, which I guess is a compliment to it (not being able to pick up all the lyrics probably help with that). Catchy pop music will probably never go out of style, and if it’s put together well and delivered with panache, all the better.

Leave a Reply

