Daily Dose: ‘Blood On The Sand’ by Madder Mortem

Anyone who has spoken to me for more than five second about music will probably know my adoration for Madder Mortem, so when their new song got dropped in my lap by a friend, it went straight on my list. And boy, is it a triumphant return after too many years, forming five and half minutes of ass-kicking brilliance that mixes the jazzier elements of their repertoire with the doom and boom of guitar based extravagance, and that’s before we even get started on the vocals. I still think that Agnete M. Kirkevaag has the best female vocal sound in metal at the moment, (or certainly one of the best, considering her hiatus) and this song only continues to prove that in my mind, most others are a ways behind. For instance: there’s a part where she sings “set the world on fire for me” – yes indeed Ms. Kirkevaag, I most certainly would be happy to do that provided I get to hear your voice some more, with its combination of sweet whispers and powerful screams providing a balance that’s displayed perfectly here. It gets better, because there’s a new album as well! This is reportedly the opening track from upcoming release Red in Tooth and Claw, which should be coming out on 28th October, 2016. I’m pretty hype for it, if it’s anything near as good as this track then it should be their best album yet. Even if the metals are not your favourite, I’d urge you to give this a listen because it’s so damn accessible due to its progressive nature and brilliant vocals that I think even non-metal heads should appreciate it. I’m gonna go and put a circle wound the 28th in my calendar now.

Leave a Reply

