Daily Dose: ‘Peasants Revenge’ by Counting Coins

Picture the scene. We’re winding down in the evening, a few of us strung out in the amphitheatre by the marina. We’ve got no plans to move anywhere, possibly ever again. Suddenly, a friend bustles up to us, with one final shocking revelation: “there’s a ska band playing main stage”.

We roll out pretty much immediately.

To be straight with you, I remember very little of actually watching the set, due to it being the end of a long day of activity and meeting and chatting with lots of people at the stage. However, I had a fun enough time listening to them that I made a note to look them up after; it’s solid party music, and proved fantastic for getting people involved. Ska for me is the ultimate musical middle ground: I’d rarely turn it off, but I’d rarely seek it out either, and I can’t think of many people who would actively rage against it as a fun time. This track does exactly what it says on the tin, with its ska punk leanings and boundless energy providing a fun little musical snack designed to get your head nodding and body moving. It’s got a good message as well, even if it is presented without subtlety (if you want subtlety, this is not the music for you). I like it without really going mad for it, but I reckon lots of people might like it more than I do, and not just for its endearing silliness: it’s brash, exciting and political, which is a winning combination in my book. The best description I saw of them was a Yorkshire Gogol Bordello, and that’s really all you need to know.

Leave a Reply

