Daily Dose: ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ (Gotye Cover) by Within Temptation

Odd cover day returns, this time in collaboration with metal day, so I can tick two boxes with one fell swoop. A noble friend put me on this, clearly noticing that I was in flagrant violation of my genre variety requirements. I’m just going to come right out and say it: her voice does nothing for me. Don’t get me wrong, Sharon den Adel clearly has a great voice, obviously has pretty good taste in music, and is almost certainly an amazing live performer and all round great person, but I’m just really, really stale on symphonic metal sopranos at the moment. It’s a shame I’ve got so jaded, because this is actually a really great cover; they’ve hit the sweet spot between interesting and not wildly over the top with the music. They’ve done a few similar style covers on the internet, such as ‘Radioactive’ and ‘Titanium’, which are also pretty good for a bit of a pump up should this be your bag. For me though, I just can’t think of a scenario where I would get more out of and extended listen to this (or pretty much any symphonic metal right now) than say, Madder Mortem. Or Cardiacs. Or Major Parkinson. Or anything that just isn’t so damn straight laced. I really struggle to distinguish between the different bands with this type of music, and I know that most of that is down to me not understanding the seventy different genres of metal, but c’mon, how many varieties of warbling soprano with over the top theatrical guitars does the world really need? Rant over. I know I’m in the minority with this (Within Temptation are far more successful than I am, let’s put it that way), I guess I’m just real tired of the genre, is all. However, regardless of all that, this is still a really good version of a really good song! Why the hell not give it a whirl, you’ll probably enjoy it (I still did, even with my sudden desire to go off on one).

Leave a Reply

