Daily Dose: ‘Eva’ by MMOTHS

This is a catastrophically stupid name for a band. Yes, I am aware that this is not technically a band, but regardless. It is both all capitalised and has a redundant letter, two of the cardinal sins of band naming (unless there is an acronym involved, in which case it is acceptable). I know that the need to be easy to search on the internet is a pressing concern, but you’d think there’s a happy medium somewhere. Perhaps all the good band names really are taken. This was another youtube add I decided to stop and listen to, although admittedly I did save this one for later, as it were, as I was in too much of a rush to consume my previously scheduled video. But the spirit of engagement was present, and I did eventually go back and listen to this slice of atmospheric electronica. It’s from an album called Luneworks (which is a good name for an album, so they clearly do have it in them) that is supposedly imminent, hence the ad campaign, I suppose. It’s pretty good, although it didn’t really grow on me initially, perhaps being a little bit over-reliant on that airy intro hook which forms a refrain over the whole track. The vocals are nice enough, although they could have really come from anywhere – this dude is from Ireland, maybe a bit of geographical colour might have made more of an impression on me. Overall its fine but it didn’t really grab me in the same way as say, Makeness did.

Leave a Reply

