Daily Dose: ‘Bubblegum’ by Mystery Jets

Hey, this is kind of delightful. This is what Coldplay should have been doing post Viva la Vida instead of the (mostly) rubbish that that was Mylo Xyloto. It’s neat, sparkly pop music, clever enough to borrow from high quality influences, while not being so pretentious as to make me want to gag. I know it’s catchy, because it’s been stuck in my bloody head all day, so it passes that ear test if nothing else. I imagine these guys as being very artsy, and that comes through in their music, channelling the slightly corny (not that corny is always a bad thing) era of indie pop/rock that somehow occasionally managed to sound both joyous and smug at the same time. The lyrics are cheesy but earnestly so, which is amazing considering they are on their sixth album. This is from their newest, Curve of the Earth, and while I don’t know if I would feel the same way about a whole album like this, I’m definitely going to give it a listen and find out. And if I like that, I’ve got five other albums to catch up on. Also apparently they have a father and son tandem in the band which is pretty dang cool.

Leave a Reply

