Daily Dose: ‘Family’ by Apothek

No, I don’t know how that name is supposed to be pronounced. I recommend just giving it a swing and seeing how it goes. All I know about this band is that it comprises of two dudes, Morten Myklebust (fantastic name) and Nils Martin Larsen, and that they have produced this song, which I quite liked when I heard on the radio the other day. It’s begins with a fairly minimalist, bitty (almost dub) sort of feel, which contrasts nicely with the smooth pleasant vocal, before it expands into a more sweeping number rounded out with wobbly synthesisers and percussive beats. After this crescendo they elegantly strip the whole thing back away again towards the end – I always appreciate unusual song structure that doesn’t get in the way of the actual song, so this was a nice treat. It also does a good job of not hanging around too long, and the ending really does it for me: good use of silence without sounding over indulgent is a skill. Apparently, this song is about when familial love moves from help to hindrance, which I’m sure a lot of people can relate to, although I personally quite like my family so don’t see that as a limitation. Neat song, and If you like downtempo electronica, these guys could be a hot new thing to check out.

Leave a Reply

